Château Malromé

FR - EN - CH - JP

The Countess Adèle de Toulouse-Lautrec achieved the acquisition of the Château Malromé with the dowry received from her marriage, and also allowed her to live far from her husband, Alphonse. He was too much eccentric and keen on the bowhunting. Their son, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, the famous painter and lithographer, carried out frequent visits to Malromé. « He loved this place, fully thrived here and painted tirelessly ».

Lautrec came to Malromé to relax but appeared very active. He made fine portraits of his family members. His mother, the Countess Adèle was his main model.
He spent the rest of his life in Malromé, and passed away on September 9th, 1901. He was buried in the cemetery of Verdelais.

The landscapes so dear to the painter and the restored apartments of Belle Epoque allow the visitors of the Château Malromé to share the environment of this large family. The living wing of the building is furnished as it was at the time of Toulouse-Lautrec and there, we can find some traces of the famous artist on several walls…

Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec

Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec-Monfa was born in Albi in 1864. However he spent his childhood in Paris and in the Aude, at the Château de Celeyran, in an aristocratic family atmosphere where the sense of glory and courage prevailed as well as the passionate taste for horse-riding and hunting. But just like his father, his grandfather and his two uncles, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec adored painting.

In 1878, he was diagnosed with a incurable bone disease which caused him two fractures of the femurs, from then he overcame his infirmity by working even harder. Toulouse-Lautrec lived for his art. He became a Post-Impressionism painter, an illustrator of Art Nouveau and an outstanding lithographer; he sketched the life style of Parisien Bohemia at the end of the 19th century.

The soul of Montmartre and Malromé

He was considered as the “the soul of Montmartre”, the Parisian neighbourhood where he lived. His paintings depicted the life at the Moulin Rouge and in other Montmartre or Parisian cabarets and theatres, he painted Aristide Bruant as well as the residents of the brothels he frequented. In 1891, he immortalized «La Goulue», a star of the music-hall, by making the poster for the Moulin Rouge. It was also him who gave the lithography all its reputation.

Paris attracted the painter by its artificial paradises; Malromé, it seduced him by its softness, tranquillity and truth.

As an unconditional and sophisticated fan of wine, Henri derided with a big sense of humor and summarized his penchant for wine in a funny way: “ When the cows eat grapes, I’ll drink milk.” Henri enjoyed the vineyard and sent barriques of wine every year to Paris and then bottled them by himself with friends in his residence there.

Despite a short life and plagued by the illness, the painter’s works were very wide-ranging. Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec was a genius and versatile artist: besides the famous Art Nouveau posters, he was a Post-Impressionism painter, an amazing lithographer and a gifted artist. He was recognized by 737 paintings, 275 watercolours, 369 posters and lithographs, and about 5000 drawings. The Museum of Albi gathered most of his works.

FR - EN - CH - JP

La Comtesse Adèle de Toulouse Lautrec réalisa l'acquisition du domaine de Malromé avec la dot perçue lors de son mariage et qui lui permit de vivre loin d'Alphonse, son mari trop excentrique, un homme féru de chasse à l'arc. Leur fils, le célèbre peintre et lithographe Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, effectuera de fréquents séjours à Malromé. Il se plaît en ces lieux et peint sans relâche.

Lautrec vient à Malromé pour se détendre mais il s'y montre très actif et fait notamment de beaux portraits de ses proches. Sa mère, la comtesse Adèle, sera son principal modèle.
Il finira ses jours à Malromé le 9 septembre 1901 et c'est dans le cimetière du village de Verdelais qu'il est enterré.
Paysages chers au peintre et appartements reconstitués de la Belle-Epoque permettent aux visiteurs du Château Malromé de partager le cadre de vie de cette grande famille. L'aile d'habitation est meublée comme elle l'était à l'époque de Lautrec, et l'on trouve sur certains murs, les traces du célèbre artiste...

Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec

Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec-Monfa naquit à Albi en 1864, mais passa son enfance à Paris et dans l’Aude, au château de Celeyran, dans une atmosphère familiale aristocratique où prévalait le sens de la gloire et du courage et le goût passionné du cheval et de la chasse. Mais, comme son père, son aïeul, et ses deux oncles, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec adorait dessiner.

En 1878, on lui découvrit une maladie osseuse incurable qui lui causa deux fractures des fémurs, dès lors il surmonta son infirmité en s’acharnant au travail. Toulouse-Lautrec vécut pour son art. Il devint un peintre du postimpressionnisme, un illustrateur de l’Art nouveau et un remarquable lithographe; il a croqué le mode de vie de la Bohème parisienne à la fin du XIXe siècle.

L’âme de Montmartre et de Malromé

On le considérait comme « l’âme de Montmartre », le quartier parisien où il habitait. Ses peintures dépeignent la vie au Moulin Rouge et dans d’autres cabarets et théâtres montmartrois ou parisiens, il peint Aristide Bruant ainsi que les pensionnaires des maisons closes qu’il fréquentait. En 1891, il immortalise «La Goulue», une vedette de music-hall, en réalisant l’affiche du Moulin Rouge. C’est également lui qui donne à la lithographie toutes ses lettres de noblesse.

Paris attirait le peintre par ses paradis artificiels; Malromé, lui, le séduisait par sa douceur, sa quiétude et sa vérité.

Amateur inconditionnel et éclairé de vin, maniant la dérision et l’humour, il résumait de façon cocasse son penchant vinicole : «Quand les vaches mangeront du raisin, je boirai du lait».
Henri profitait du vignoble et se faisait monter tous les ans des barriques de vin du domaine qu’il mettait lui-même en bouteille avec ses amis dans sa résidence parisienne.

Malgré une vie courte et marquée par la maladie, l’œuvre du peintre fut très vaste : Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec fut un artiste de génie, complet : au delà des célèbres affiches Art Nouveau, il fut un peintre du postimpressionnisme, un incroyable lithographe et un dessinateur de talent. On lui reconnaît 737 peintures, 275 aquarelles, 369 affiches et lithographies et environ 5 000 dessins. Le musée d’Albi regroupe l’essentiel de son œuvre.